The week that was…week 7: busy

2013-02-14 07.19.33

It was an extremely busy week, both work-wise and socially and pretty much hard to catch one’s breath. But I still managed one early morning ride at least. The lake in the morning is so beautiful, and I love the balloons. One day I will go up in one! Did I say I love balloons?

2013-02-15 10.10.56

One of the many things that added to the busy-ness of the week was the visit by the German Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Integration. I did a presentation for her on our approach to skills assessments for migrants, something Germany is dealing with now as they recongise the importance of skilled migration for their economic growth. That all went beautifully. The night before, I was invited to the German Embassy for a welcoming function for the Minister, and in literally my first sentence to a German I cast strong doubt on my diplomatic credentials by mentioning the War. Yes. Well, the German diplomat asked me how long my organisation had been around and I pointed out that we administered an Act which had been in place since 1946 to assist with the re-intergration of soldiers after…. well, you get the picture. No diplomatic incident was caused, though in my head I could see John Cleese goosestepping…

2013-02-15 14.20.15I finally got around to replacing the sunglasses I lost before Christmas after the combined nagging of James and Krystal my EA (I hate it when they gang up on me). Not that they weren’t right… Anyway, the downside of kerataconus is that all the larger size sunglasses won’t tolerate the curvature I need for my coke-bottle bottom lenses. Sigh. Anyway, because my insurance was paying for the replacement glasses, I could salve my disappointment by choosing some ultra expensive Chanel frames. Looking forward to delivery soon.

001Despite the busy (or perhaps part of the cause of the busy) there was D&D Wednesday night, enhanced by the use of as many portable electronic devices as possible of course.

2013-02-16 10.54.47 2013-02-16 11.16.25The weekend of non-stop action began with Fritha’s second birthday party. Happy birthday Fritha! Andrew and I were a little afraid of the birds though. You may recall my phobia about ducks.

2013-02-16 11.42.35

The other particularly fun moment of social interaction was the visit from Helen, Sean and Alice with snickerdoodles. when Helen and Sean had been minding the boys one night and watching some movie, snickerdoodles had been mentioned, so Helen promised to make them for the boys. They were very well received!

003

Leave a comment