A year in the life 2016 #128: year 6 debating debut

image

I went to see my godson Conrad at his debating debut. Given that it was debating that really brought his mother and I together, I thought it was important to go along. His team was up against much more experienced year 7s, and clearly they hadn’t had quite enough coaching because thry really struggled with rebuttal. But Conrad did well as first affirmative – more humour than anyone else so I was proud.

Being at debating was so funny and familiar – it really hasn’t changed much in all the years. After all the years of debating at school (third speaker), I also adjudicated and coached so have spent many hours at debates.

Afterwards Natasha volunteered herself and me to coach the team if they need further assistance, so I may be spending yet more time at school debating.

Leave a Reply

