A year in the life 2016 #46: back in training

image

I went to my first roller derby training for the year. I have decided to take my time and do Freshmeat sessions for a bit to re-practice skills and rebuild confidence after a very sporadic year of derby last year. Injuries, such as my sprained ankle, really dent the confidence, but it is also amazing the extent to which having to deal with a rather negative climate and a level of bullying and snark    (even when not directed at skating skills) had eroded my will to skate and my confidence when I did so. So a bit of time re-practicing basics, especially while I am working and travelling regularly seemed like just the thing. And do you know what – a night of doing all the things again and remembering how long it took me to master some of them, and being able to do them well did help a lot with that confidence thing.  I am looking forward to next session, andd to having more time to skate and ending up better than ever.

Leave a Reply

