A year in the life 2016 #21: tired and stressed

image

I didn’t really want to get up. I haven’t slept well this week and I think the stress of everything – the move, finding houses and consequently schools in Adelaide, the packing, the various massive financial commitments – a had taken their toll. Also I have had a persistent neck problem for a while now that has resisted usual treatment and my physio had told me the night before might need further intervention. Work has suddenly become super busy again (partly because I am on leave next week ) and I had back to back meetings ahead.

image

I  did get up. I got to work. I spent 11 hours there without a break. Some meetings got cancelled but new ones got scheduled. I cancelled my performance assessment because when I became randomly teary saying goodbye to a colleague who is going on maternity leave I knew I wasn’t in the best emotional place to discuss my strengths and weaknesses – my boss, fortunately was lovely. By the time the day was done at work all I could do was sit on the couch, eat noodles, watch the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and contemplate my last night ever in that house.

Leave a Reply

