Weeks! #7: tough bits, fun bits

2014-02-10 07.13.06Another week started with a ride around the lake.

2014-02-10 08.37.58The electricity people brought a cute little digger into the yard to install a new electricity pole next door.

2014-02-11 10.22.43So this week had some hard hard bits. It was the week before I went overseas as well as the week leading up to a bout – and both of those weeks are busy individually but combined become stupidly busy. On top of that, during the week we discovered that the bar licence for the bout hadn’t been sorted and our usual supplier of bar services wasn’t available, so we had to address that. I also had to tell someone that their job was excess and there was a choice of redeployment or a voluntary redundancy – and this is one of the harder things my job has ever required me to do. I also received a summons to appear as a witness before a Royal Commission. So it wasn’t an ideal week, and there were several very hard days in the middle. Recognising that, the lovely Linda, my EA, brought me macarons one days. It wasn’t that the sugar was the important thing – although that certainly helped – it was that moment of recognition and acknowledgement that the week was hard.

2014-02-11 19.03.41Speaking of derby, in addition to three sets of training and organising last minute things for the bout, we had an ExComm meeting before training on Tuesday. It is a lot of derby.

2014-02-12 08.48.26Fortunately walking to school still provides quality time with the boys.

2014-02-12 11.17.31As well as “coffees” at LSR with James.

2014-02-12 18.21.00But the week required at least one g&t. Maybe two. All that training probably stopped there being three.

2014-02-12 18.40.48My new helmet for my first game as a playing Dishonour Roller arrived on Wednesday. It has been nearly two years since I got my first helmet and I had forgotten how tight the padding can be – so I wore it around the house for a bit.

2014-02-14 15.13.04Cuddles with small boys always make one feel better.

Given I was spending my entire Sunday travelling for work, I left work a little early on Friday and took Sebastian to cricket. Fortunately I got to see him bat and do some keeping before I headed off to training.

2014-02-15 08.59.00Saturday morning Jillie, the captain of the DHRs, and I headed off to Mix 106.3 to spend a couple of hours co-hosting the morning show with Cam the usual host and also Blocker Dutton from the Canberra Times. In the end I think Jillie and I really enjoyed it and it was a great opportunity to get some publicity for our game.

2014-02-15 10.29.37Sebastian finally had bought himself new wheels – but didn’t have the cash for new bearings – so I helped him change and clean bearings and put on his new wheels because…

2014-02-15 15.10.41…on Saturday afternoon the boys had their first junior derby session, ably taken by Bubble from CRDL.

We had to leave them because it was BOUT DAY!
2014-02-15 16.29.12Here I am, all kitted up and ready to go on. As usual will post separately about the bout. It was fun to play my first Dishonour Roller bout and I hope to do it again!

Of course, the worst part was that at one point in the game I fell onto my skate, leaving some fabulous bruising on my bum. This made my Sunday activity – 14ish hours of flights to Ningbo in China – more painful than it otherwise would have been.

And so I ended the week looking out of my window at China, somewhere I had never been before.

2014-02-16 22.03.08

 

 

Leave a Reply

