The week that was…week 43: fingers and minds

2013-10-14 10.50.56So started the week back at Canberra Hospital. I must say that the greatest pain experienced during this entire episode came when they attempted to remove the bandage from the night before. Worst. Pain. Ever. After some crying and screaming I got a local anaesthetic, after which all was fine. They told me then that all the theatres were booked out for the day so to go away and come back the next day. If you want to see the finger in all its gory detail from that morning, you can look here.  James and I went to brunch.

2013-10-14 16.37.11Some reading got done.

2013-10-15 09.46.45Back at hospital the next morning after some maneouvering child care arrangements. Many thanks to everyone who lent a hand over this period – Paul, Rachel, Jackie and particularly Andrew who got to our house at 6.40am so we could get to the hospital on time.

After being subject to the horrors of day time television during the morning, I went into theatre around lunchtime. I woke up a couple of hours later, numb finger and no visible graft site – they told me they used skin already on my finger and stretched it. Anyway, after proving I had recovered sufficiently from the anaesthetic James took me home.

2013-10-16 14.20.34Jude had had to go home from school sick while I was being operated on, and the next couple of days involved he and I hanging out at home, doing not very much (although I did end up doing two teleconferences from bed).

2013-10-16 20.02.37I did manage some social interaction on Wednesday, and finally some wine, but had to go to bed early after our first game of Arkham Horror.

2013-10-17 19.28.23I also went outside to see the pretty sunset on Thursday night.

On Friday both Jude and I were well enough to leave the house, so I walked Jude and Zac to school. Sebastian was off for the first day of the Australasian finals of Tournaments of the Minds – opening ceremony, fun excursions.

I must admit I don’t think I had fully recovered from the trauma of the week, because when I got home from my walk to school and back, I burst into tears when I discovered Zac had left his lunch on the bench and I had to walk back to school to take it to him. He was a little shamefaced when I arrived in his classroom, but not much.

2013-10-18 10.13.13On Saturday Sebastian had a whole day of ToMs competition. Jude and Zac played with ships.

We went and saw Sebastian’s team give their presentation in the afternoon. Despite the fact that Sebastian had had to come home sick on Friday with something similar to his brothers, he was over it enough to get through Saturday on some panadol. Their presentation went well and their structure achieved all that it needed to achieve.

We then went back home until the presentation at the AIS that evening. It was a nervous wait for results, made worse by the fact that the organisation of the ceremony was terrible and the whole thing took nearly three hours – rather longer than the 45 minutes advertised. Thank goodness we had left Jude and Zac at home with the D&D crew.

But in the end it was worth it – Sebastian’s team got “Honours”  – essentially they were runners up in their category (and the winners were New Zealand). So much excitement and pride. Only one other ACT team got an award – also Honours and that was a secondary school team. And now he still has something to aim for – being winners next time! Throughout the Tournament of the Minds process it has been great to see how hard the kids have worked on it and how well they have been sheparded by Clive, Sebastian’s class teacher.  Well deserved.

2013-10-19 20.42.58When we finally got home, it was time for some more D&D.

2013-10-19 22.26.05James prepared us a very special Sunday squid lunch.

2013-10-20 14.15.26They it was time for everyone but me to make felt repairs to their skating gear.

2013-10-20 15.34.41Ah, spending Sunday evening watching scrim and training isn’t quite as much fun as taking part. Hopefully I will be back on skates reasonably soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

