A year in the life…day 300: Melbourne Cup

 

So, I am not a particular fan of Melbourne Cup Day. For me it is a celebration of the worst aspects of Australian culture – gambling, drinking to excess, public drunkenness, sexist role playing where women are all about the fashions, classism an the long term culture of animal cruelty that the racing industry entails, where horses are essentially disposable when no longer winners. But as the boss, I engage minimally so my staff don’t need to feel that it is out of line for them to participate. But I have limits – my fairy butterfly headdress was worn ironically in lieu of a fascinator (they are equally stupid and pointless pieces of headwear), I didn’t watch the race, and when I came second with the one $1 sweep entry I purchased, I donated the winnings and a bit more to Quest Equine.

Leave a Reply

