A year in the life…day 38: violence

image

Tonight while we had derby training at ANU gym, elsewhere in the complex was kendo training. Seeing the kendo folk putting their gear away did make me a touch natsukashii for kendo – I would love to do it again but I think my dodgy foot would still object. Possibly more nowadays. It did occur to me that it would seem I am attracted to violent sports – fencing, kendo, aikido, derby – but I don’t think it is the violence that attracts me. They are fun and different, and perhaps the sense of something new, of sports which have a genuine sort of spectacle about them is appealing. Or maybe it is just the gear…

Leave a Reply

